BABY WEARING

On the go, when doing practical stuff at home or just whenever the little one needs her mum and body contact.

My little girl is not too fond of strollers, because she likes to be close to us. She wants to be able to see, feel and hear us all the time, which the stroller prevents her from. I love how she automatically fits into my view on today’s unnatural way of caring for children. Too many children get placed in strollers and left to lie for themselves for hours and hours while the parents can enjoy some of the needed “alone-time” they had before birth. Not to mention how the pacifiers get shoved into a baby’s mouth the moment she cries instead of trying to read the child to see what she wants.

DSC_0017

Traditionally, babies were with their parents all the time. And they are born to want that body contact to feel safe and happy.

Don’t get me wrong. I know that strollers are extremely practical and a pacifier is a great tool. Especially if you overproduce and your baby’s stomach can’t keep up with her need for sucking. As a mother who over-produces as well, I turned to pacifiers at first, before I decided to be able to read my baby’s signals better and know which ones mean hunger or just the need of comfort-sucking. I also decided to be able to comfort my baby without the help from a pacifier, and it is really not as difficult as I feared it to be.

And as for slings and woven wraps; I love to use slings, because they work like magic on my little girl. She immediately falls asleep when sitting in one, and whenever I need to breastfeed her, I just lower the rails a little so that she can reach the nipple. My fiancé likes strollers more, and he often uses the one we got from his sister. However, I have never used it because I like to have my hands free and my baby close to me.

When outside, I just put her in a sling, swing a rucksack over my shoulders, and then I am on the go. Nothing with stumbling around with a heavy stroller, several blankets and extra clothes because she won’t have my body heat, and I am confused about how warm/cold she will get.

DSC_0022

Other benefits of slings:

  1. It is practical: You can breastfeed discretely, be active, have both hands free and you can get around (especially where strollers can’t, like on the beach, forest or in a busy people-packed city or bus).
  2. Babies who get carried cry a lot less. Whole 50 % less than those who don’t.
  3. It gives your child close body contact which it needs after birth. Once it gets interested in the surroundings instead of the primary caregiver, you can always back-carry him/her.
  4. It is the best possible stimulation for the kid. The child follows you around everywhere; it can hear you, feel you and therefore develops throughout the many impressions it gets.
  5. And finally, the kid gets motorically better when sitting in a sling rather than lying in a stroller, because it follows your movements.
  6. It helps the digestion when sitting upright instead of lying on the back.
  7. The more the child sits in a sling, the less time it spends laying down, which minimizes a flat back head.
  8. It gives the carrier and child a close bond, and way more kisses can be exchanged back and forth.

If you are not into the traditional slings and woven wraps, which are the ones I like the most, there are very fancy mei tais and other baby carriers. Just make sure to look for the ergonomically correct ones. Where the baby sits in a C-shape position with the back and forms an M with the legs and bottom, so that the knees are higher than the bum. Sadly, some of the carriers that are sold today can be bad for the back of the baby, so if you plan on using it for long walks in the forest, make sure to research which ones to stay away from.

Have fun carrying your baby ❤

Leave a Reply

