SEEDS AND SPROUTS

Finally, the sprouts are peeking out from every pot in the window. There is nothing that says spring to me than a windowsill full of green sprouts. Even the beets are finally showing their fragile dark red stems. I truly and fully enjoy sitting and nursing their small figures.

The ones in this picture are the peppers my boyfriend and I harvested from some fruit he brought home from work. We looked at it after biting into it, and wondered if we could get just as delicious fruit ourselves. After all, we had great experience growing chilies last year (I still have one plant left).

Anyway, I think it is something to think about when you harvest seeds. You buy some fruit to the same amount of money as you buy its seeds. However, you get so much more out of it, because you can usually get far more seeds, and you can eat the fruit afterwards. It is a double win situation. Besides, you can make sure to take seeds from the best and the sweetest ones you have, so that you will be able to make your own selection of how you want the fruit of your future plant to be.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

