BACK TO THE SOIL

I spotted this sight in the local botanical garden in the small town where my parents live, and I had to take a picture and show you guys. Even though I am not particularly fan of the tame nature the workers keep there, I have to admit that I was happy to see that they have not cleaned up the old apples that had fallen down from the tree in fall. Usually they want everything neat and trimmed, but fortunately even they could see the benefits of such beauties even though they might seem rather disgusting and rotten at the current moment.

Birds, fungi and different other animals as well as microorganisms love to compost the apples – giving the soil more nutrients. I think that a blanket like this one is definitely beautiful, especially because it gives biodiversity to the garden.

2 thoughts on “BACK TO THE SOIL

Leave a Reply

