SEA KALE

This beauty… Have you ever stumbled upon it on the beach? I cannot help to bow down and take a snack whenever I go to the shore and spot the first one. I love Sea Kale (Crambe maritima). It is so delicious in salads if you are making it as a side to fish or mussels, but the plant is also very decorative with its twirls and curls on the leaves.

Is there anything funnier than go out and pick your dinner from the nature right outside your window?

kale-2

When I visit Laesoe (the island where I grew up), I always take some sea kale, glasswort and a few crowberries for the salad, when we are cooking fish. It reminds me of summer and the special unique salty taste it gives to your greens is (for me) rather addictive. Raw, Nordic and delicious!

Leave a Reply

