SUCCESSFUL GARDENING

It is amazing to see how your garden can be filled with vegetables after a summer of constant worrying, because nothing seemed to be able to grow. However, suddenly, after days with heat, rain, heat and rain again, everything started to swell rapidly. In this post, I will therefore go through some pictures of specific veggies and tell you about my experiences with them this year. I hope it will inspire you to tell me about your garden.

have1
Faba Bean/Vicia Faba

The faba bean was very easy to grow, as long as I made sure that I got water when I sowed it. I did not germinate it indoors – I just put the seed directly into the ground in May. The beans were tall, lush and beautiful, but some were sadly attacked by millions of aphids while others got red/brown leaves – in Denmark we call it “rust”. Yet the beans could still be eaten. HURRAY!

I made a garden where I combined different edible roots to create dynamics in their different sizes and leaves. The beetroots were especially big and gorgeous after the first thinning in June. I simply did not do more in this garden bed.

have4
Onions

My onions came with great success, and they sprouted extremely quickly. Their tops were deliciously green and slightly bitter, and were used for salads, but most of the onions were saved for August/September. Those who had a lot of space and no weed to take their nutrients became gigantic. However, they shall up these weeks and dry, otherwise they will begin to rot.

have6
Squash

Woah, I had trouble with squash this year. I sowed three seeds next to each other, so that the possibility of sprouting would be bigger. However, in all the areas (60X60 cm) there were only one or two of the seeds that sprouted. Once the sprouts were up, they got heartlessly attached by Spanish Slugs. It was so bad that we lost two whole garden beds with squash. However, we did manage to stop them briefly by buying this trap: No Slug. The remaining squashes got huge!

 

Carrots were sowed in a fine row with a few radishes in each. Since radishes sprout faster than carrots, they will not only indicate where the row is, they will also be able to be harvested before the carrot sprouts demand all the space. In between the rows, I put onions and other veggies to trick the carrot root fly, which I have not yet seen as a problem in my garden. I have also been very keen to put soil around the roots of the carrots each time I pulled some of them up, so that the flies could not lay eggs in them (the larvae are the ones eating the roots). With a good thinning, the carrots are growing bigger, and some of them have already been tasted – YUM!

Do you have any experiences you want to share?

Leave a Reply

